Skip to content

Saying goodbye to a friend. I wasn’t ready.

I think it’s time to go.

Won’t you stay a little longer?

No, must dash.

But you seem to be having fun?

I am, I was, I mean it’s been great but I really must head off.

Well only if you’re sure cos we’ll miss you.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s been great, I’ve loved every minute of it…the walks, the holidays, the bike rides through the forest, the afternoon sleeps together on the sofa, the left over beef casserole.

Oh I’m really pleased you enjoyed it cos we did and we hoped you did too.

I really must go now…

How about one last walk, afternoon snooze, snack?

I wish I could but I can’t sleep well anymore and walking is really hard because I don’t see well now and eating just isn’t easy, I’ve forgotten how to….

Is there anything we can do for you?

No.  Really.  You’ve done more than enough.      I know you know it’s time I went.

I do, but it’s hard to say goodbye even when I see your head hurts and you have trouble drinking and eating, and you’ve lost your way around the house. 

Yeh it’s true, I ain’t getting any better.

But I thought you were happy.

I don’t know anymore..I can’t.

How about one last walk?

Shhh.

You like going for walks. 

Do I?

The house will feel empty without you.

Huh?

I can’t bear to see you like this!

Head hurts! Thirsty! Can’t drink!

We love you and will miss you forever!

Tired!

But I don’t think I am ready.

I am.

Goodbye Fred..

Image
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anitra Welsh #

    Vicky James & family. How sorry I am to hear about Freds death. Kirsty sent me his blog.
    He was the most gorgeous border terrier I’ve ever met. My heart goes out to you all.
    Lots of love Anitra xx

    February 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

