Skip to content

Should Meggings come with a “May contain” warning or is it all a load of boll@*&s?

WARNING, THIS ARTICLE MAY CONTAIN NUTS AND REFERENCES TO THEM.

Is it only me or is anyone else out there a tad uncomfortable when at the Panto with the kids?

“Oh Lord…Man bumps. Don’t snigger, act your age”

I dont mean the innuendos and cheeky jokes, or the hard seats.

“Really?  What no skirt,no frills,no large belt?’

No no no, much simpler  than that…Its the men in tights who boldly prance around the stage.

“Eyes up eyes up”

This got me thinking about the supposed new craze of men in leggings, otherwise known via the urban dictionary as “meggings”.

“I really hope it doesn’t move”

And whether or not it would take off in these colder parts of the world?

” snake, budgie in a hammock, hot dog, meat and two veg..STOP”

I decided to take to the streets in search of the man in meggings.

I approached this task in a similar fashion to searching for a lost dog, with or without his bone!  A guy in leggings, they need to eat and drink, but I cant see them dropping into the local boozer, well not around these parts anyway. I blended in and hit the spots where I thought I might find them “hanging out” together. Cafes, wine bars, megging shops (couldn’t find any), museums, book shops, department stores, the nail bar, the chocolate bar, the champagne bar…okay I admit the last few were more for me.

There were some near sightings such as ladies in leggings, and some joggers in running trousers.

In one last attempt for some feedback on this I posted this lack of sightings on my Facebook page, to have a friend say ” thats northeners for you”. Sensible you mean?

Not to mention…I tentatively asked a local tractor driver if he would wear them to which the response included the words “dead” and “body”.

I am no forecaster of fashion trends but I would wager that megging wearing chaps won’t risk the colder climates of the north for obvious reasons.

Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 12.25.48

I am all for wearing what you want and being a bit out there, but some things should just NOT be out there.

Therefore, my advice to you would be this…”Life can be a bit of a pantomime…but if you are going to wear meggings in public then  “shake well after use”  and make sure there is a clear warning of “may contain nuts” across the back.

Love you. x

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. If a man gets caught wearing those he should be shot on sight.

    February 18, 2013
    • Well, i am not sure i would go to these lengths but I appreciate your feedback.:-)

      February 18, 2013
  2. Very funny! One of the unexpected pleasures of the pantomime – turning, briefly, into The Wife of Bath. 🙂

    February 18, 2013
  3. sTitch says yes to male leggings, allow me to tell you a story;

    On the 28th of October 2012 two young city workers wore ill fitting female leggings to a fancy dress party in north London. These two individuals alongside another mutual friend have now tasked themselves with designing, manufacturing and selling male leggings to the fashion conscious male.

    Head to http://www.stitchleggings.com to find out more.

    June 10, 2013
    • Excellent website, thanks for the link. There is most definitely a market for them.

      October 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

