Skip to content

Something from the top shelf Madam?

IMG_1909

Most weeks I wander into my local newsagents and buy a few magazines. Then I take them into the cafe next door and succumb to them in the search for inspiration. Yes, this is work. In fact, they are a less expensive paper substitute for a creative assistant.

I tend to lunge over the usual immense collection of “how to use your Mac” mags and snatch a couple of interesting ones from the top shelf, which is not what it used to be, thankfully!

This week I chose three magazines.

No 1 -The usual glossy which I never actually read but flick through to get a sense of trends and colours.

My other two choices were not ones I had purchased before but that is the point after all.

No 2-  A magazine with a vintage look, feel and shape and a stamped style logo imploring me to ‘spend wisely, wasteless, appreciate more’, I grabbed this in the hope that these splendidly wise words would rub off on me as I flicked through it

No 3 –  A more contemporary look publication, with the usual gorgeous gal on the front, and which appeared to have some interesting articles.

Settled into the coffee den with caffeine shot and reading materials I began my hunt for design ideas for the months ahead.

No 1 was no surprise with its high gloss, air brushed look, its tittle tattle articles about the latest boy band and what they eat for breakfast. The confident use of words telling you what you MUST wear this season.

No 2 had articles on taxidermy, foraged terrariums and sweet making. So I went from IT girl to Country squires wife. I wondered how relevant this one was for me personally? I can think of some of my friends who would love to read this and give the sweet making and perhaps taxidermy a go…

No 3 I read from front to back, enjoying every article. There were no signs of a scratch card or other loose advertising material falling from it forcing me to scrabble around on the floor. The photography was captivating, believable and uncomplicated. I found the articles interesting and relatable.  Some very cool women talking about their careers as club owners, RAF medics, singers, song writers and personal trainers. I very rarely read all the articles in a magazine or newspaper, but this was an exception.

I flicked back to the cover to check its handle and noticed the no nonsense text in the corner which said “for the not-so-straight woman”

It just goes to show that in the search for some design revelation amongst the magazines this week, I was surprised how they told me something quite incisive about myself. That is, I am not-so-straight, I would also like to add that I am not-so-glossy or not-so-earth-mother.

Exactly what is a “terrarium” anyway?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

